the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Herpetofauna Native to the UK > Slow Worm
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wildlife TV - Slow Worms

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jamesm1985 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wildlife TV - Slow Worms
    Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 11:05am
Hello everyone, 
Sorry for the blanket message. I wondered if anyone could help me. I live just outside chepstow in South Wales. I found two slow worms in 2 weeks (one in my kitchen and one under a pile of slate which I was in the process of removing. Unfortunately I released them into my compost heap before realising how useful they might be!
I'm a wildlife TV producer and have just been asked to think of a story to film in my garden (thanks to corona virus) and I'm keen to feature slow worms devouring slugs to protect my veg patch.
So long story short, do any of you live near to chepstow? And if so would you be in favour of me "borrowing" a slow worm for a couple of days filming before either releasing in my garden (which is evidently a popular slow worm spot) or returning to your garden afterwards? I would happily comply to social distancing rules etc (you could leave it in a suitably comfortable Tupperware outside your house for instance.)
Having never found one in my garden in 2 years until these two showed up I'm not 100% confident that I can find another one, hence the request. Lighting may have struck twice...
Thanks all,
James
T:079802747127

GemmaJF View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GemmaJF Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 7:15pm