the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Associated Fauna and Flora
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1 for Madfossa

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Liz Heard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1 for Madfossa
    Posted: 28 Mar 2012 at 7:04pm
hello mate (and everyone else)

judging by your recent billy badger story (and username?) im guessing mammals are a big passion for you too.
sorry its a stiff but heres an animal thats hard to see and still absent from many areas. got em your way yet? are you in Essex or Bux?

RTA male Polecat. im no expert but judging by the "mask" and white eartips, i think its a true Polie not a Polecat-Ferret.
Noodles?

The Trumpet. Herefordshire - a long-time stronghold for the species;

PS Mr Pot Noodles promised members some Polecat pup pix awhile back but we've still not been served.
maybe we need to add more water to him?

all the best!

Edited by ben rigsby - 28 Mar 2012 at 7:37pm
Madfossa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Madfossa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2012 at 9:17pm
Cheers for that Ben

My name is Ian, the madfossa is from way back at Newquay zoo..... a short but boring story :-)

Polecat or polecat ferret, hmmmm its a similar conundrum to the Scottish wildcat v feral cat???
You are certainly in the right area for polecats (i'm in Essex). The only method i've heard of for telling them apart is to measure the post orbital region of the skull. If its 16mm or more = polecat, under 16 mm ferret assuming its an adult. Though thats not conclusive !
Best bet is to bag it and send to the Vincent wildlife trust, best to phone them 1st thoughWink
Im sure they'll help.