the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > General > UK Reptiles and Amphibians
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Garden frog/newt rescue - advice needed

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Geometer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Garden frog/newt rescue - advice needed
    Posted: 27 Mar 2006 at 10:55am

Hello, I am a garden designer working in East Anglia. I have signed on to this forum in search of advice.

I have taken on a commission for a garden in Ipswich. My client is a private individual who has just moved into a new property, and I will be giving his garden a complete makeover in the course of the next eighteen months or so. The plans are not finalised, and work will not begin until late summer, but we have agreed that the final design will include a wildlife pond.

In the meantime, the existing garden pond presents something of a problem. It is constructed from a pre-formed liner, approx. 6Æ x 4Æ, and is appallingly badly sited: too close to the house and placed squarely across one of the main access routes from the house into the garden. It is a serious hazard û a potential leg-breaker, and a death trap for toddlers, and has to be filled in. According to the vendor, however, it supports established colonies of frogs and newts (not great crested, as far as I know). Obviously, I want to preserve these populations and transfer them to the new pond, and would prefer to delay action until next winter. My client, however, is adamant that the pond must be filled in ASAP.