the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Herpetofauna Native to the UK > Great Crested Newt
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

CGN advice

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iFrog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: CGN advice
    Posted: 11 Jul 2010 at 3:15pm
Hi all before i post my questions i thought id take the time to introduce myself. My name is Dave im 27 from hertfordshire. I have been keeping exotic amphibians (mainly frogs) for the past 8 years. I have kept many species including A.Callidryas, B.Bombina, M.Nasuta, R.Dennysi, H.Cinera, L.Caerulea, D.Tinctorius, M.Alpestris Alpestris, S. salamandra and many more. As a kid i was always doing the whole tadpole thing and have raised many R.Temporia and B.Bufo.
I have my own frog dedicated webpage, and am in the process of getting envolved with savethefrogs.

My problem is this. I am well known round my way for being the frog guy, or nature boy as my fiancees friends call me.

Wednesday of last week i was handed a tub by a friend of a neighbour and they told me that they dont have a pond but found this
little guy under there shed whilst they were taking it down. I opened the tub to see it contained a juvenile great crested newt so
i told them i would take it of them and get it rehomed.
Now a part of me told me that i should of not got envolved but as someone that is very interested in amphibian conservation i did
not trust they could do the right thing.

At the moment he is housed in a 24x12x12 aquairum that is fully furneshed and is being fed on gutloaded crickets and worms.
I have made a few phone calls regarding his release back to a pond were i know has a healthy population of GCNs but have